Let’s travel together.

America Ferrera to Receive SeeHer Award at Critics Choice Awards



America Ferrera will receive the eighth annual SeeHer Award at the 29th annual Critics Choice Awards, the Critics Choice Association announced. She will receive the honor at the event on Jan. 14, 2024, which will be hosted by Chelsea Handler and broadcast on The CW at 7-10 p.m. ET.

The SeeHer Award is given to a woman who “advocates for gender equality, portrays characters with authenticity, defies stereotypes and pushes boundaries,” per the release. A leading global movement for accurate portrayals of women and girls in media, SeeHer is comprised of marketers, media organizations and industry influencers that are committed to creating gender-bias-free advertising and media.

Most recently starring in “Barbie” and “Dumb Money,” Ferrera is best known for her roles in “Ugly Betty,” “Real Women Have Curves,” “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” and “Superstore.” An award-winning actor, director and producer, Ferrera received an Emmy, a Screen Actors Guild Award and ALMA and Imagen Awards for her breakthrough performance in “Ugly Betty.”

Ferrera has executive produced and directed episodes for Seasons 1 and 2 of Netflix’s “Gentefied” and NBC’s “Superstore.” She will make her feature directorial debut with an adaptation of Erika Sánchez’s novel “I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter.”

As for her work in activism, Ferrera launched “Poderistas” in 2020 with nine other women, including Eva Longoria Bastón and Christy Haubegger. A digital lifestyle community and non-profit, “Poderistas” is intended to inform, affirm and inspire Latinas to transform their lives, community and nation through leveraging their power. With her husband Ryan Piers Williams and friend Wilmer Valderrama, Ferrera also co-founded “Harness” — a community of artists, influencers and grassroots leaders utilizing art and storytelling to create a more equitable world.

Additionally, Ferrera has spoken at several major events such as TED, the DNC and March for Our Lives. She was the opening speaker and chair of the Artists’ Committee for the Women’s March on Washington in 2017.

Past recipients of the SeeHer Award include Viola Davis, Gal Gadot, Claire Foy, Kristen Bell, Zendaya, Halle Berry and Janelle Monáe.


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.